The primary governing body of the SEM section is the Section Board, as defined in the SEM section bylaws:

  1. The Section Board consists of at least 4 and up to 8 elected members, including a Chair, Vice- Chair, Treasurer and Secretary and possible other funtions. All board members are elected by the membership for terms of two years and may be re-elected for additional terms.

  2. The Chair is elected by the membership directly and may serve for no more than two successive terms.

  3. Additional board functions are determined by the Section Board as needed.

The last election was held in December 2022 for the period corresponding to the years 2023 to 2024.

The current board members are:

The functions and responsibilities of each board member are either defined in the bylaws or proposed by the current board members, according to the purpose and necessities of the SEM Section.