The LCSA Board

Contact Information:

This email address can be used to contact all current board members. 

The Role of the Board:

Board members are elected to serve for two years, with no term limits, though the board chair may only serve in that position for 2 successive terms.

2020-2021 Board Members:

  • Wenjie Liao, Co-Chair (Sichuan University)
  • Cassandra Thiel, Co-Chair (New York University)
    Dr. Thiel is an Assistant Professor at New York University in the Grossman School of Medicine, the Wagner School of Public Service, and the Tandon School of Engineering. Her research utilizes life cycle assessment and principles of industrial ecology to analyze and improve the environmental performance of medical systems, hospital design, healthcare practice, and medical technologies. Dr. Thiel received her PhD from the University of Pittsburgh and BS from Michigan Technological University, both in Civil Engineering.
  • Yuan Yao (Yale University)
    Dr. Yuan Yao is an Assistant Professor of Industrial Ecology and Sustainable Systems at the Center for Industrial Ecology, Yale University. Her research is motivated by the increasing need for sustainable solutions that can support industrial development without compromising the environment or depleting the resources for future generations. Dr. Yao uses interdisciplinary approaches in industrial ecology, sustainable engineering, operations research, and big data analytics to develop systematic and scientific rigorous methodologies to support engineering and policy decisions towards sustainable development of industries. Dr. Yao receives the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF) Faculty Early CAREER Award in 2019.
  • Oludunsin Tunrayo Arodudu (Maynooth University, Ireland)
    Dr. Oludunsin Arodudu is a Natural resource and sustainability researcher at Maynooth University, Ireland. He applies life cycle sustainability assessment tools, methodologies, indicators and frameworks for evaluation of bioenergy and other renewable energy systems. His current research interests include tools and strategies for landscape and resource efficiency, circularity of materials, and sustainable bioeconomy. Oludunsin has a BSc. in Geography (Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Nigeria), MSc in Geoinformation Science and Earth Observation for Environmental Modelling and Management (Lund University, Sweden and University of Twente, Netherland), and a PhD in Geoecology (University of Potsdam, Germany). Oludunsin is currently a Board Member of the Life Cycle Sustainability Assessment Section of the International Society for Industrial Ecology.
  • David Font Vivanco (2.-0 LCA consultants)
    Environmental Scientist and M.Sc in Industrial Ecology by Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona and M.Sc in Renewable Energy Engineering and Management by Universitat de Barcelona. Obtained his Ph.D from Leiden University with a thesis on environmental rebound effects. Since then he has been a postdoctoral researcher at Yale University and University College London. Currently a Life Cycle Specialist at 2.-0 LCA consultants.
  • Haibo Feng (PhD Candidate, University of British Columbia)
    Haibo Feng started his PhD study in September 2016 in The University of British Columbia (UBC). He received his Master degree from UBC in September 2013. He is heavily involved with the social and academic events for the Engineering community in UBC. He also has a few years of industrial experience in the green building and LEED consulting firm. He is willing to collaborate with researchers globally to support the LCSA community developments.

Previous Board Members:

Thomas Gloria

Harvard University

Matthew Eckelman

Northeastern University

Stephan Pfister

ETH Zurich

Paulina Jaramillo

Carnegie Mellon University

Jeroen Guinée

Leiden University, CML, Netherlands

Gregory Norris

Harvard School of Public Health USA

Michael Hauschild

DTU Management Engineering DK

Sarah McLaren

Massey University, New Zealand

Barbara Nebel 

PE International, New Zealand

Robert Anex

University of Wisconsin Madison, USA

Matthias Finkbeiner

Technical University Berlin, Germany

Göran Finnveden

Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden

Pere Fullana Palmer

Escola Superior de Comerç Internacional, Barcelona

Sabrina Spatari

Drexel University, Philadelphia, USA

Steven Young

University of Waterloo, Canada

Bo Weidema

2.-0 LCA consultants, Aalborg East, Denmark

Alissa Kendall

UC Davis, Civil and Environmental Engineering, USA

Josh Newell

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA